An interview with Gordon Raphael

A couple of Sunday's back, we had the pleasure of welcoming legendary musician and producer Gordon Raphael to Eiger. Gordon, renowned 
for his work with the likes of The Strokes and Regina Spektor, came and spoke about his musical history and adventures. A relaxed 
evening centered around his stories, accompanied by old photographs and music, it really was quite special to be a part of. 

Following on from his trip here, we thought it would be a great idea to catch up with the man himself. I got to find out a bit more about what 
brought him to Leeds and what he has coming up next, amongst other things!

PYB: To start off, how did this UK tour come about?

GR: I have been making “producer talks with Q&A” in music colleges and recording schools before. 8 times in Bristol, 8 times in Buenos Aires and 4 times in Mexico City. Nicholas Ellis contacted me on Facebook and after questioning me fairly relentlessly about everything in my mind regarding The Strokes, my career, musical views- he turned up in Argentina recently carrying a backpack 10 minutes after a concert I’d just performed. Fast forward to October – he suggested I bring the fables and stories he’d heard to the UK public as a series of nightclub lectures. I am fairly open minded, and simply replied that if there were some professionally organized events that he could arrange- I’d certainly develop an entertaining presentation and show up on time!

PYB: What did you think of Leeds? Have you spent much time here before?

GR: The people I met at my Eiger Studios talk were across the board very intelligent, engaging and interesting to communicate with. I really did not have any idea what to expect on my Leeds trip, same way I felt about Manchester and Wakefield- which also turned out surprisingly fun and worthwhile! I’d only been in Leeds once before- running live sound on The Libertines first UK tour when in fact, they opened for The Strokes at Leeds University and at the after party was The White Stripes! I super-enjoyed The Queen’s Hotel and this amazing Vegan food place called Global Tribe.

20150208_204717

PYB: You’ve spent a huge amount of time in South America recently, what did you get up to there? Do think you’ll be back any time soon?

GR: Each year since 2009 I have been making trips to Buenos Aires to record bands- rock bands with loud guitars and pounding drums. This music -from my perspective had vanished noticeably from the music scenes in USA, UK and Europe over the past 5 years- but In Buenos Aires it has been fashionable and cool to be in a rock band!

I know that there is a great love for Is This It and Room On Fire (records) there and as such, I am a bit well known: from the airport fragrance counters, to the Starbucks, to the airport security to the local fruits and vegetable vendors- they all say “Hi Gordon!” from the time I land til the moment I depart. This is kind of crazy and fabulous to me, for it certainly doesn’t happen in my home towns of Seattle, New York, London or Berlin! No no no. So after recording about 20 bands there, I started 2 awesome bands of my own and not only played 10 shows this year, but recorded 12 tracks in epic amazing studios there- which I am trying to sell to labels in UK and USA right now!

Yes, I will go back for sure- but after spending 100 days there in 2014, I’m gonna need to focus on Europe for a little while in this year.

PYB: You’re working on an album at the moment, how did this come about and what can we expect?

GR: It came about because musicians in Argentina offered to play my songs in a series of live shows. I picked about 15 of my greatest hits spanning my writing career (almost 100 percent unknown as of yet, even though I have been composing twisted little music explosions for most of my life!). Well, I quickly noticed that the musicians I’d attracted there were just amazing, and the songs- some of them I’d been playing forever, and had recorded at least 20 different times (!), were sounding so interesting and special that my inner music fan could not miss the chance to record these versions.

I hired 3 of the greatest studios in Argentina (El Pie, Panda and Ion) and mixed in 2 studios there, plus two studios in Bristol (Invada and Toybox) as well as final touches in my own Analog Poodle Studio in Berlin. I am hustling on the street now to find a way to release and promote it in UK, Europe and USA. Will let you know when it’s ready!

20150208_205136

PYB: What’s up next for Gordon Raphael?

GR: My priorities are: finding way to release and tour my songs, creating a new digital recording system for Analog Poodle Studio, producing bands, spending more time in UK and Europe in 2015, making new songs, eating organic vegan food every day, living productively & consciously, and having fun, having fun, having fun!

PYB: We loved having you down here at Eiger. Do you see yourself coming back to Leeds anytime soon?

GR: I met some very nice new people in Leeds and perhaps I will come for a festival this summer to do both my talkshow, and some live music! That would be ideal!

Gordon also added that: I’m lucky on this talking tour, because I can discuss the subject I am most familiar with: my adventures and musical experiences! I don’t want to repeat the stories I’ve told on these nights, but I have two amazing adventures to share from my actual website!

Gordon pic

Check out the stories on the links below!

http://www.gordotronic.com/nalepa-strasse-city-of-sound-production/

http://www.gordotronic.com/eric-minnis-and-the-friendly-hitch-hiker/

 

Leave a comment